I bet you didn’t know that in the UK, on average it rains on 159 days a year.
That’s over 43% of the year!
I know what you’re thinking – how miserable is that, but what if I showed you how you can turn that rain into a major business opportunity? You can use all that rainfall to help you rise above the competition in whatever sector your business is in!
This is all about advertising and CPM.
What is CPM?
Cost per thousand (CPM) refers to the average cost a company pays for 1,000 advertisement impressions.
To measure CPM, you divide the total cost of the campaign by the number of impressions. The result is then multiplied by 1,000, generating the CPM figure, also known as the CPM rate.
For example:
UK Facebook average CPM is £5.13 (AdEspresso). So it will cost on average £5.13 to make 1000 impressions or views of your advert (this is an average and this will vary depending on the industry).
The cost of digital billboard advertising is around £300 to £900 for 2 weeks, depending on location and the type (static or digital). On average, digital billboard advertising in the UK can range from £5 to £20 per 1000 impressions. So a CPM of between £5 and £20 (Amplify)
What is the CPM of Promotions Umbrellas?
Lets go back to the average rainfall in the UK of 159 days. A conservative estimate would be that a single umbrella would be used for around 100 of these days and that walking around an urban area it is reasonable to assume the umbrella would be seen by on average 50 people.
Below is a table showing these figures and a total number of views based on 100 umbrellas (a reasonable size order), lasting 2 years (this is a conservative estimate for the majority of our umbrellas)
Number of umbrellas |
100 |
Number of views per day, per umbrella |
50 |
Number of days the umbrellas are used per year |
100 |
Number of views after 2 years |
1,000,000 |
These figures tell us that 100 umbrellas over 2 years will give you 1,000,000 views/impressions. To work out the CPM we need the cost of purchasing those 100 umbrellas. Based on our most popular umbrella, printed the most popular way (Susino Golf Fibre Light, printed to 4 panels with a 1 colour logo), the cost is £755.
Total cost of campaign (£755) / number of impressions (1,000,000) x 1000 = £0.76
The CPM of a golf umbrella (based on these conservative estimates) is 76p.
Lets compare this to other forms of advertising:
Form Of Advertising |
CPM (Cost per 1000 impressions) |
Facebook Ads |
£5.13 |
Digital Billboard |
£12.50 |
Branded Umbrellas |
£0.76 |
Working out the CPM clearly illustrates the value of promotional umbrellas as an advertising and marketing tool.
In short promotional offer the better value than other advertising channels, whether that be in the form of more traditional billboards or social media and digital options.
Umbrellas are a useful & crucially long lasting promotional gift to give to your customers, therefore extending the lifespan of the advert beyond a single impression. This means the resulting significantly lower CPM in comparison to other forms of advertising makes branded umbrellas a very cost-effective way advertise your brand.
Does that make you pleased it rains so much in the UK?!